An article from Mrs.Sudha Murthy

This particular article is written by Sudha Murthy, wife of ex-Chairman and Chief Mentor of Infosys. I personally felt the touch of this article, cant even dare to imagine how it feels to Mrs.Murthy. But, such experiences should be shared so that many people like me get inspired.

Go ahead read it.

It was probably the April of 1974. Bangalore was getting warm and gulmohars were blooming at the IISc campus. I was the only girl in my postgraduate department and was staying at the ladies’ hostel. Other girls were pursuing research in different departments of Science.

I was looking forward to going abroad to complete a doctorate in computer science. I had been offered scholarships from Universities in the US. I had not thought of taking up a job in India.One day, while on the way to my hostel from our lecture-hall complex, I saw an advertisement on the notice board. It was a standard
job-requirement notice from the famous automobile company Telco (now Tata Motors). It stated that the company required young, bright engineers, hardworking and with an excellent academic background, etc.
At the bottom was a small line: “Lady candidates need not apply.”
I read it and was very upset. For the first time in my life I was up against gender discrimination.

Though I was not keen on taking up the job, I saw it as a
challenge. I had done extremely well in academics, better than most of my male peers. Little did I know then that in real life academic excellence is not enough to be successful.
After reading the notice I went fuming to my room. I decided to inform the topmost person in Telco’s management about the injustice the company was perpetrating. I got a postcard and started to write, but there was a problem: I did not know who headed TelcoI thought it must be one of the Tatas. I knew JRD Tata was the head of the Tata Group; I had seen his pictures in newspapers (actually, Sumant Moolgaokar was the company’s chairman then) I took the card, addressed it to JRD and started writing. To this day I remember clearly what I wrote. “The great Tatas have always been pioneers. They are the people who started the basic infrastructure industries in India, such as iron and steel, chemicals, textiles and locomotives They have cared for higher education in India since 1900 and they were responsible for the establishment of the Indian Institute of Science. Fortunately, I
study there. But I am surprised how a company such as Telco is discriminating on the basis of gender.”

I posted the letter and forgot about it. Less than 10 days later, I received a telegram stating that I had to appear for an interview at Telco’s Pune facility at the company’s expense. I was taken aback by the telegram. My hostel mate told me I should use the opportunity to go to Pune free of cost and buy them the famous Pune saris for cheap!

I collected Rs 30 each from everyone who wanted a sari When I look back, I feel like laughing at the reasons for my going, but back then they seemed good enough to make the trip.

It was my first visit to Pune and I immediately fell in love with the city.

To this day it remains dear to me. I feel as much at home in Pune as I do in Hubli, my hometown. The place changed my life in so many ways.

As directed, I went to Telco’s Pimpri office for the interview. There were six people on the panel and I realised then that this was serious business.

“This is the girl who wrote to JRD,” I heard somebody whisper as soon as I entered the room. By then I knew for sure that I would not get the job. The realisation abolished all fear from my mind, so I was rather cool while the interview was being conducted.

Even before the interview started, I reckoned the panel was biased, so I told them, rather impolitely, “I hope this is only a technical interview.”

They were taken aback by my rudeness, and even today I am ashamed about my attitude. The panel asked me technical questions and I answered all of them.

Then an elderly gentleman with an affectionate voice told me, “Do you know why we said lady candidates need not apply? The reason is that we have never employed any ladies on the shop floor. This is not a co-ed college; this is a factory. When it comes to academics, you are a first ranker throughout. We appreciate that, but people like you should work in research laboratories.”

I was a young girl from small-town Hubli. My world had been a limited place.

I did not know the ways of large corporate houses and their
difficulties, so I answered, “But you must start somewhere,
otherwise no woman will ever be able to work in your factories.”

Finally, after a long interview, I was told I had been successful. So this was what the future had in store for me. Never had I thought I would take up a job in Pune. I met a shy young man from Karnataka there, we became good friends and we got married. It was only after joining Telco that I realized who JRD was: the uncrowned king of Indian industry. Now I was scared, but I did not get to meet him till I was transferred to Bombay. One day I had to show some reports to Mr Moolgaokar, our chairman, who we all knew as SM.
I was in his office on the first floor of Bombay House (the Tata headquarters) when, suddenly JRD walked in. That was the first time I saw “appro JRD”. Appro means “our” in Gujarati. This was the affectionate term by which people at Bombay House called him.

I was feeling very nervous, remembering my postcard episode. SM introduced me nicely, “Jeh (that’s what his close associates called him), this young woman is an engineer and that too a postgraduate. She is the first woman to work on the Telco shop floor.” JRD looked
at me. I was praying he would not ask me any questions about my interview (or the postcard that preceded it).

Thankfully, he didn’t. Instead, he remarked. “It is nice that girls are getting into engineering in our country. By the way, what is your name?”

“When I joined Telco I was Sudha Kulkarni, Sir,” I replied. “Now I am Sudha Murthy.” He smiled and kindly smile and started a discussion with SM. As for me, I almost ran out of the room.

After that I used to see JRD on and off. He was the Tata Group chairman and I was merely an engineer. There was nothing that we had in common. I was in awe of him.

One day I was waiting for Murthy, my husband, to pick me up after office hours. To my surprise I saw JRD standing next to me. I did not know how to react. Yet again I started worrying about that postcard. Looking back, I realise JRD had forgotten about it. It must have been a small incident for him, but not so for me.

“Young lady, why are you here?” he asked. “Office time is over.” I said, “Sir, I’m waiting for my husband to come and pick me up.” JRD said, “It is getting dark and there’s no one in the corridor.

I’ll wait with you till your husband comes.”

I was quite used to waiting for Murthy, but having JRD waiting alongside made me extremely uncomfortable.

I was nervous. Out of the corner of my eye I looked at him. He wore a simple white pant and shirt. He was old, yet his face was glowing. There wasn’t any air of superiority about him. I was thinking, “Look at this person. He is a chairman, a well-respected man in our country and he is waiting for the sake of an ordinary employee.”

Then I saw Murthy and I rushed out. JRD called and said, “Young lady, tell your husband never to make his wife wait again.” In 1982 I had to resign from my job at Telco. I was reluctant to go, but I really did not have a choice. I was coming down the steps of Bombay House after wrapping up my final settlement when I saw JRD coming up. He was
absorbed in thought. I wanted to say goodbye to him, so I stopped. He saw me and paused.

Gently, he said, “So what are you doing, Mrs Kulkarni?” (That was the way he always addressed me.) “Sir, I am leaving Telco.”

“Where are you going?” he asked. “Pune, Sir. My husband is starting a company called Infosys and I’m shifting to Pune.”

“Oh! And what will you do when you are successful.”

“Sir, I don’t know whether we will be successful.” “Never start with diffidence,” he advised me “Always start with confidence. When you are successful you must give back to society. Society gives us so much; we must reciprocate. I wish you all the best.”

Then JRD continued walking up the stairs. I stood there for what seemed like a millennium. That was the last time I saw him alive.

Many years later I met Ratan Tata in the same Bombay House, occupying the chair JRD once did. I told him of my many sweet memories of working with Telco. Later, he wrote to me, “It was nice hearing about Jeh from you. The sad part is that he’s not alive to see you today.”

I consider JRD a great man because, despite being an extremely busy person, he valued one postcard written by a young girl seeking justice. He must have received thousands of letters everyday. He could have thrown mine away, but he didn’t do that. He respected the intentions of that unknown girl, who had neither influence nor money , and gave her an opportunity in his company. He did not  merely give her a job; he changed her life and mindset forever.

Close to 50 per cent of the students in today’s engineering
colleges are girls. And there are women on the shop floor in many industry segments. I see these changes and I think of JRD. If at all time stops and asks me what I want from life, I would say I wish JRD were alive today to see how the company we started has grown. He would have enjoyed it wholeheartedly.

My love and respect for the House of Tata remains undiminished by the passage of time. I always looked up to JRD. I saw him as a role model for his simplicity, his generosity, his kindness and the care he
took of his employees. Those blue eyes always reminded me of the sky; they had the same vastness and magnificence.

( Sudha Murthy is a widely published writer and  chairperson of the Infosys Foundation involved in a number of social development initiatives. Infosys chairman Narayana Murthy is her husband.)

If you are reading article, you might also be interested in the PHP and Scriptaculous Book I have authored.

The book gives you insights about effects, drag-n-drop, slideshows, applications, auto-completion, in-place editing and more. Complete code snippets and explanations.

CHECK out and BUY the PHP and Script.aculo.us book at Packt official site
mybook

http://www.packtpub.com/php-and-script-aculo-us-web-2-0-application-interface/book

About srinix

I am Sridhar, a matured nut, on this planet with water, air and love ;)

89 responses to “An article from Mrs.Sudha Murthy”

  1. Gupteshwar Joshi says :

    It’s really great

  2. Jumana says :

    Loved this article

  3. shantanu bhowal says :

    i am moved by this article. This is nice.

  4. kabababrubarta says :

    Cool Site! kabababrubarta

  5. swetha reddy says :

    This is an excellent article and i am lucky enough that i found it,looking for more articles ahead about your life.

  6. swetha reddy says :

    This is an excelent artilce and i am lucky enough to find it,really inspired a lot,looking ahead for more about your life.

  7. Jyosthna Yellampalli says :

    Excellent article

  8. swapna says :

    Great article,about a Great person by a great woman

  9. nagendra d v says :

    sudha murthy you are lucky that you met TATA which was a in an a way turning point of your life

  10. firozi says :

    she is excellent personality and i would like to have her e mail id and her contact nos. can you please forward me

  11. sruthima says :

    No words to explain the thoughts which i had after reading this..
    it is really best one

  12. Manish Gupta says :

    It’s a wonderful story. It helps to your confidence levels, to understand life, helps in makeing you more civilised and human.Can I get her address or email. I want to reach her or Mr. Murthy.

    Manish Gupta.

  13. sachinseth says :

    I think sudha murthy one of the greatest lady in this world.everybody inspire to sudha ji and she many many sacrifice in his age

  14. Sharmila Sengupta says :

    This is agreat article….One must read it.Perhaps, JRD could realise the potentials of Mrs. Murthy..I,personally have lot of dreams about Handicrafts of India and the workforce…but we remain limited in our activities coz,there will be no thinker for the small scale unorganised sector..if i could write more to Mrs. Murthy..Today,we consider them as social reformers…

  15. Nandisha says :

    I always excite and emotional to read Mrs. Sudha Murthy’s articles. Her articles alway taught lessons to people to become good human beings.

  16. shweta dhawale. says :

    i read this article in “goshti mansanchya”book from-mrs.sudha murty..it’s realy too good…i m big fan of her.i read sudha murty’s books.she is my favorite writer…

  17. jessie says :

    Excellent..mindblowing…I love her articles….She is a Great writer…

  18. Roopshree says :

    Can u gimme me SudhaMurthy’s address or any way how i can contact her.

  19. sushma says :

    i want to contact mrs sudha murthy.
    can i get her e-mail address please?

  20. Vishal Doshi says :

    want to contact mrs sudha murthy.
    can i get her e-mail address please?
    Here vishal doshi from bhuj(kutch-gujrat)

  21. veena bhat says :

    very nice…………excellent ….you are really very lucky…
    i want to contact sudha murthy….can i get her email address……..

  22. mukti says :

    good!

  23. girish kulkarni says :

    wonderful…….
    its really touched and inspired me……..

  24. amrutha says :

    i was deeply inspired and motivated by this article. i wish i am able meet Sudha Murthy atleast once in my life.

  25. anu durgesh says :

    please let me know the e mail id of mrs sudha murthy .

  26. anu durgesh says :

    very good

  27. surendra udayar says :

    i read this article in “goshti mansanchya”book from-mrs.sudha murty..it’s realy too good…i m big fan of her.i read sudha murty’s books.she is my favorite writer…

    please let me know the e mail id of mrs sudha murthy

  28. Dhirendra Sharma says :

    Inspiration. Proud of Matrishakti.

    I have read her writings and want her to write a Foreword
    to my experiences.

  29. Dhirendra Sharma says :

    Being a senior retd. professor I have written my experiences. Would like Sudha Murthy to write Foreword to my
    autographical volume.

  30. vanita sapar says :

    Really grt!!!
    Heart touchable story
    I salute to JRD & Sudha Murthy
    Because of them i am working in s/w industry.

  31. subas chandra says :

    a friend of mine sent this message through mail. i was delighted to visit this site. real touchy

  32. suresh says :

    i want the email id of sudha murthy

  33. I. VICTOR says :

    i am a ardent admirer of madam suda murthy, i used to buy her books such as ‘How I taught my grandmother’, etc., in the very first week of its release. It is a great pleasure and enlightening to read her books, very useful in day to life.

    This article too is excellent as usual wih her writings.

    May Almighty God Bless her, grant her good health, peace, and longivity of life.
    Yours sincerely,

    I.Victor
    KGF

  34. Dhirendra Sharma says :

    It is unbecoming of Sudha Murthy not to acknowledge
    messages from her readers. I had also asked her to go to
    Sri Lanka with Peace message to Prabhakaran. She can
    play a constructive role in restoring Peace and Unity in
    SAARC community. The Murthys now in Vanprastha stage
    can perhaps succeed where our ppliticians have failed.

  35. Kavya says :

    I’ve always admired Sudha Murthy and I’m proud to have studied in the same college as her – “B.V.Bhoomaraddi College of Engineering and Technology, Hubli”. A woman of substance, completely down to earth and extremely pleasant to talk to. Reading this article was indeed a pleasure 🙂

  36. Nehal says :

    very nice.no words to describe ur thoughts

  37. jhoradasgupta says :

    This article was gr8 i liked it a lot .if ever u see it Mrs. Murthy please remmember there is 14years old girl who admires u and u are the role model of hers she has read and re- read ur books no . of times and that is me. i like ur books and they reflect your personality u really are a woman of substance.[:D]

  38. rahman says :

    wish of god, good people get good friends/boss/partner in this world and thereafter. in fact iwnted to meet narayan sir and sudaji, well i am waiting.

  39. aishu says :

    hey thats a really good one. very lucky people get a chance to have such great experiences and one of them is sudha mam.do u have email id of her??

  40. laxmivenkatesh holalkere says :

    God knows how many times, I might have read this article. I pray and wish, India should produce, millions of such great sons, and daughters, to make it to regain the past glory. Hats off to a great legend, JRD !

    I am thefan of ‘Jeh’, and my beloved ‘ Murthy couple’ !

  41. MADAN T K says :

    sudha madam really its a impressing article

  42. shalaka says :

    please let me know Sudha Murthy’s email id and postal address on my email id

  43. Chaitanya says :

    Simply great and inspiring…..

  44. RAMESH C MALIK says :

    AN EXCELLENT ARTICLE .SHE WAS OBVIOUSLY THINKING MUCH AHEAD OF HER TIME .THAT IS HOW SHE ROSE SO HIGH .
    I HAVE BEEN READING HER BOOKS AND HAVE FOUND HER IDEAS OF STORY TELLING VERY FASCINATING .
    AS A TRAINER I ALSO USE THE SAME TECHNIQUE.

    HOWEVER ,TO CONTACT MADAM SUDHA MURTHY I NEED HER EMAIL ID .

    I HAVE BEEN HUNTING FOR THE SAME WITH THE SAME DEVOTION AS LORD RAMA WAS ASKING THE BIRDS AND TREES “HAVE YOU SEEN MY BELOVED SEETA?”
    MORE THAN LOVING, I RESPECT SUDHA MADAM FOR HER WRITING SKILLS AND ABOVE ALL HER COMPASSIONATE HEART

    I AM EVEN KEEN TO READ HER UNADULTERATED STORIES IN KANNADA MAGAZINES.
    SINCE I HAVE NO SOFTWARE TO INSTANTLY TRANSLATE THE STORY I AM LEARNING KANNADA.

    THAT IS MY LOVE FOR SUDHA MURTHY THE WRITER
    GOD BLESS HER WITH A LONG LIFE AND EXCELLENT HEALTH AND AN UNPARRALLED FAME IN THE WORLD.

    WARM REGARDS
    RAMESH C MALIK

  45. anuja says :

    this is exactly one of those really sweet and life changing stories that is just perfect to encourage today’s young women to be unafraid of demanding and accepting a positive change in life.

  46. Sunil Kalkaji says :

    good touching article…

  47. Sreevani says :

    Mrs. Sudha Murthy, You are really great, By reading your inspirational articles,I am gradually changing myself positive way,Your articles impacted on my life, Pls post the articles for Us.

    Sincerely
    Sreevani Kirankumar Malyala

  48. $ombhatt $hastri says :

    AN AWESOME ARTICLE.IT REALLY PULLS, UR STRINGS OF UR HEART.RECENTLY I HAD STUDIED SUDHA MURTY’S BOOK NAAMED WISE &OTHERWISE.BEFORE READING THE I WAS NOT KNOWING MUCH MORE ABOUT HER.I KNEW JUST AS SHE IS WIFE OF MR. NARAYAN MURTY.BUT AFTER READING ,HATS OF TO HER KINDNESS,FEELINGS,THOUGHTS,EMOTIONS,WRITING SKILLS.WHAT A GREAT LADY SHE IS.

  49. Vaishnavi says :

    Good Article!!!!

    Can i get the email id of Mrs.Sudha Murthy

  50. Smani says :

    Dear Sudha Murthy,
    Happy to read this article. I am not happy in my life once i entered infosys and lost my life because of losing my job not clearing my training. Not only me but also many youngsters who are brilliant while entering Infosys as Trainee Engineers and exiting as useless. We feel bad and losing our hope and many lost their lifes . Why Infosys do this to young people. Atleast they can retain these used less youngsters for some data entry jobs. I am suffering a lot because of Infosys. I was confident in my life until i reached Infosys gates.
    This article is excellent. All the best for Infosys’s Success.

  51. jyothi pai says :

    Dear Sudha Murty,

    I am a teacher pursuing M.Phil from Institute for advanced studies in English, affiliated to Pune University under the guidance of Dr.Prabha Sampath.I have chosen the topic Reaffirmation of values through literature with reference to two of your books, Wise and otherwise”, How I taught my grandmother to read and other stories”. I am an ardent fan of your work and your books enabled me, my teenage son and my extended family strengthen our values .It has also helped me impart values ethically to my students. As a part of my research I am communicating this to you and I hope you will continue to do the good work for the betterment of mankind .As a humble request I want this letter to be acknowledged so as to enable me to include this in my research .
    Thanking you.
    Mrs. Jyothi R Pai

  52. Shailja says :

    I am big fan of Mrs. Murthy and i read almost all books and article of her.

    Please let me know Sudha Murthy’s email id and postal address on my email id. Need some guideline and i would like to know whether any NGO running under her leadership in pune

    Sincerely,
    Shailja

  53. darshana says :

    i am great fan of sudha murty. Her work is inspiration for all. i admire her most. she is my Idol n wann follow her. please let me know her email id.

  54. Ramesh.P.K says :

    It was nice for Mrs.Sudha Murthy(Mrs.Kulkarni) to write to the great man JRD and get a chance to meet and talk to him.
    Is there any possibility to meet or write to Mrs.Sudha Murthy?

  55. venkatesh.nanjundan says :

    Really great!

  56. R.Kodiappan says :

    Gone through all ur books and presenting ur books on my birthday to the libraries nearby and Educational officers of Virudhunagar District, Tamilnadu. Waiting for ur New Titles if any.

  57. sreedharkulkarni says :

    Its God Wish,

  58. Nanda says :

    please let me know Mrs sudha murthy’s e-mail id and postal address

  59. Shalini Singh says :

    hello all of u……
    i m a softare engineer but due to some circumstances i could not persue my career in this field. Initially i was very upset because of my limitations as its a matter of proud to be a part of such a reputed company “INFOSYS”. But its fine now as I am contended with my career. I knew Sudha Murthy as a part of Infosys and Mr.Murthy’s wife but not as such a great author and philanthropist.But now after reading her books I am deeply impressed with this divine lady. I would feel fortunate if I get a chance to meet her atleast once or her email id. I would love to do the same what she is doing for the people in need and “light as many candle as possible”.

  60. gowrinagraj says :

    Fantastic…….!!!!!!!!!!!! I really love her writing! I Always inspired and exciting to read Mrs. Sudha Murthy’s articles. Her articles always taught lessons to people to become good human beings!

  61. anuradha says :

    Mrs.Sudha Murthy is one of great personality of India.Her books are really wonderful.Can I get any chance to meet or talk to her.

  62. riya says :

    M big fan of hers…..Xlent article….

  63. lalitha says :

    very inspiring..

  64. sreelekha says :

    isnt she amazing???????????

  65. .sayli says :

    yes she is indeed…fabulous 1…my fav author…she always makes u think in d end…
    can i get her email id??

  66. mani sinha says :

    sudha murthy has impressed me as talented,noble soul and a great author (rather shy)who avoids propaganda as ladder to fame. Her stories and novels are soul stirring.India is really great due to people like JRD.

  67. lakshmi says :

    Our Society needs people like you mam. I have read some of your books its really inspiring and motivating .
    Please give send me your mail Id.

  68. Sheetal says :

    This article inspired me alot.Sudha Murthi ji is a great personality realy and JRD was too.
    Can anyone give me Sudha murthi ji’s email id.I realy need for some reason..

    Thanks.

  69. Subashini says :

    Excellent article!!!!! Can I pl get email. id of Sudha madam.

  70. bindiya says :

    after 3 years me too become an engineer ,dis article inspires me a lot n now onwards my aim s to become a small pearl in a big crown i.e SUDHAMURTHY n she s my rolmodel too.

  71. sachin says :

    Gr8 posting !!

  72. sachin says :

    Can I have Sudha Murthi’s email ID.

  73. priyanka says :

    Great Article it relly boosts up my confidence towards my career. Which is going to start soon. Thank you Mam

  74. DRSHANTHKUMARGOEL says :

    this article is really and practically a inspiring note from sudha madam to all women flock to pierce through in to male dominated world and prove them selves that they are in no way lesser to this blind folded scriptured gender discrimination. no doubt speciallyin india women flock is double disadvantaged in all fields. really i was so shocked that even a giant company like tata discriminating on gender basis such rule is being breaked by sudha ma’m and opened its eyes that if society gives them a fair chance to involve they can do wonders even better than their counter parts. congats madam.

    on behalf of NATIONAL PARENTS COUNCIL AND ON MY BEHALF I CONGRTS YOU AND SIR FOR EXELLENT ACIEVEMENT IN THE FIELD OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND PROVIDING MILLIONS OF JOBS

    DR.SHAANTHKUMAR GOEL

    CHAIRMAN

    NATIONAL PARENTS COUNCIL (PARENTS IN EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT)

    EMAIL; forchildsfuturen@yahoo.com
    childsfutureparentscouncil@gmai.com

    drgshanth@yahoo.com

  75. suprabha says :

    Waa this article really inspired me a lot. Really Sudha Murthi is a great person and JRD was also a great person we rarely find qualities of JRD now a days in todays existence owners.

    I agree that Sudha murthi ji sacrificed her career for the sake of her husbands career, but some where she is right in her decisions. I would have opted the same if i was into her shoes. Even i have my own dreams like establishing a firm(Dont know how difficult it is… but sure the dreams never leave me sleep properly. I got inspired by this article. i have read her other articles also. Honesty is the best policy and i love to follow that.

  76. R.Kodiappan says :

    Namaskar. Hope this mail finds you good health & high spirit. I used to quote some of your phrases in my classroom instructions. viz We can see all things outside from a window but we can’t see all things inside from outside. ( a phrase used by the author Hassan’s Attendance problem). Students get inspired by your stories. Looking for new article.

  77. manasa says :

    Really great

  78. manasa says :

    Can I hava sudha murthy’s ID plz

  79. zoya khan says :

    this is really motivational article which gives inspiration to ordinary people.
    Sudha murthy is a great person and my Roll Model.

    God Bless You.

  80. soundaryaroja.s.s says :

    after 4 years i will achieve. but i am not engineer then i will achieve.

  81. Pavan Barad says :

    Its Really Amazing to me.its really Inspired to reach ME TO gREAT hEIGHTS .but i m the fan of the Sudha Murthy Madam i have read her Books i,e ‘How I thought My grandMother to ReaD.Its Really Intresting Story Book of the Year .Sudha Murthy is the Real Doner to the Society.

    Regards
    Pavan Barad
    Hubli

  82. shankar shastry says :

    I want to contact mrs.sudha narayan murthy please give me her email address and contact no. pls this is a humble request ok please will u give please

  83. Ladan says :

    I adore you ,although im a foreigner in your country, i translated your book ( The Old Man
    and his God) in persian and i would like to publish it as soon as.i hope to meet you
    one day in my life .

  84. Abhilash Pawar says :

    i read novels , autobiographies , biographies , inspirational ..all kind of books . But i had not read sudha madams books….One fine day it so happened ,i had been to my neighbors house to borrow some books and while having the look of other books…i was locked by one book , it named “A old man and his god” on its front cover. i just asked enquired about the author of the book and i just carried that book to my home.I read that book 2times in two days and i was touched by the flavour of the book…from then i continued to read each and every books of sudha mam…..i think she is a unsaturated energy of india….and a great social leader….. 🙂

  85. Sajith says :

    Hi My name is sajith, I am from Kasaragod, Kerala . I read sudha madam’s book “How i taught my grand mother to read and other stories”,It is very interesting and also very much useful to the young generation I am planning to translate it in Malayalam language . How can i get the permission?
    Dear Abhilash. Is it possible to get the book “A old man and his god” and “Wise and Other wise”

    Regards
    Sajith
    sajutheruvath@yahoo.com

  86. deepika says :

    i love ur books…!! they are really very inspirational for the young generation i mean of curse for aal of us!!! some of them are really heart-touching….:( all in all ma’am’s books are awesome!! 😀

  87. Diya says :

    Please may I get Ma’ams mail I’d or postal address

Leave a Reply

